Reflections

It is ironic that the last day of the slice of life challenge ends on a Friday! It is a double win feeling.  Well, I can say that I completed the challenge of writing every day and also learned a lesson or two along the way.

What I Learned from the Slice of Life Challenge

  • I need to think ahead of what I want to slice about
  • Be observant of my daily life to find things to write about
  • Just like some of my students, I struggled with writer’s block!
  • My slices were not by best writing and felt like I had my guard up
  • I need to pick a different time to write my slice-  before bed was not the best time for me
  • Sometimes I had ideas but didn’t feel they were jazzy enough to slice about
  • I sometimes struggled with how to begin each slice

As I reflect over my experience, I am glad I participated in this challenge as I learned a lot about myself as a writer and enjoyed reading the other blogs.  I would do the challenge again and perhaps may write a slice or two in the Tuesday’s slice.

Thanks for the opportunity!

 

7 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. Love your reflections. I was a first timer too. Coming into this I didn’t think I could write. I definitely learned a lot about myself as a writer and am hoping it helps me to help my kiddos! Congratulations on completing your first challenge 🙂

    Like

  2. schmidtkristas says:

    I love the way we learn more about ourselves as writers through this…and maybe more about our students’ experience as writers in the classroom! Happy writing…

    Like

  3. I was a first timer too. I never thought of myself as a writer but I’ve enjoyed the process, am proud of what I produced (well, mostly), and learned a lot!
    Love your insights!

    Like

  4. failingreatly says:

    As another first time slicer, I have to say I know what you mean about ideas that weren’t “jazzy” enough to write about. I ended up accepting it and letting go of critiquing in favor of getting the slices out each day, but I definitely think my life is sort of boring now! Congratulations!

    Like

  5. I agree I hope you will slice on Tuesdays! I think we all get critical of our writing (especially looking back on a month), but the point is you did it! You wrote for a month and that practice alone has changed you. I always think I will plan ahead, but alas, after completing my third year it seems unlikely. Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

